Track record tumbles in the presence of greats

2016 Victorian Mile Championships


John Landy, siting just metres from the finish line, at Melbourne University’s Rawlinson Track, watched happily as three men broke the barrier he chased over sixty years ago. The 100th Victorian Mile Championships drew former winners, including Landy, 1968 Olympic Champion Ralph Doubell and others to Melbourne University to celebrate the rich history of the storied race and watch the next generation chase places at the Rio Olympics. Luke Mathews, fresh off running 1:46 and 3:37, both close to the Olympic qualifying standard, claimed the Victorian Championship in 3:56.7 and broke the track record (3:58.9), held by MUAC legend, and Landy’s contemporary, Merv Lincoln nearly sixty years ago.  Sam McEntee and Brenton Rowe followed Mathews home to collect silver and bronze respectively, both breaking the 4 minute barrier in the process. Before the Men’s Championship Mile, the assembled former champions were presented to an appreciative crowd and competitors. Australian steeplechaser and Olympian Genevieve La Caze won the Women’s Mile Championship in a solo effort, after pacemaker Melissa Duncan stepped out after 1000m.

A crowd of 700 watched a stellar night of racing and vaulting with top quality performances over both 800m and the mile, across 29 races and 320 athletes.  Tamsyn Lewis Manou, in a dominant front running effort, claimed the A 800m in 2:03.5, just outside the Olympic Qualifier, whilst  1500m specialist Tom Fawthorpe stepped down to take the A 800m in 1:49.8. Isabell Napier won the Women’s pole vault, clearing 3.55m, with Joel Pocklington and Flavien Basson both clearing 5.20m in the Men’s vault. Many thanks to the MUAC members who helped out during the competition and to the Victorian Milers Club for the ongoing partnership that allows us to stage the event.
2016 Victorian Mile Championships




Pole vault

Press clippings