MUAC athletes free to fly at Nationals

89th Australian Athletics Championships

Thirteen Melbourne University Athletics Club members have qualified for the 89th Australian Athletics Championships this weekend (15th – 17th April) at Olympic, with berths to the 2011 IAAF World Championships up for grabs, along with national titles.

The Australian Championships will be the last event held at Olympic Park before Athletics moves to its new home at South Melbourne.

Topping the billing for MUAC will be Victorian Long Jump and Triple Jump champion Linda Allen.  With recent personal bests in the Long Jump and the number one ranking in Triple Jump, Linda’s chance of a National title look strong.  Kathryn Mitchell, a MUAC and Eureka Athletics Club athlete and Delhi Commonwealth Games competitor, will be looking to secure a spot on the Australia team for the World Championships with a strong throw in the Javelin.

Hannah Alderton and Janelle O’Sullivan, both medalists at the 2010 Australian Championships in Perth, will be looking to bounce back from injury plagued summers and post good heights in the High Jump.  Mitch Mackenzie, High Jumper and aspiring pilot, will be aiming to clear the 2m mark for the first time.

Kate Scarlett, MUAC’s Winter Manager, will return to the state representative ranks, contesting the 3000m Steeplechase.  Three athletes, Irie Hill, Kath Iannello and Cath MacRae, from Warren Hill’s strong squad will be vying for gold in the Pole Vault.  Harry Smithers, a MUAC and OMAC athlete, will toe the line in the 1500m, an event featuring the return of Craig Mottram to championship racing.  MUAC President Stephen Edwards hopes to continue his late season good form in the Triple Jump.  Jarrod Pageot, 2010 Australian Junior Long Jump Champion, has secured a berth in the Open Long Jump competition alongside jumping sensations Fabrice La Pierre and Mitch Watt.

Two MUAC athletes have been honoured by Athletics Victoria with top ten bib numbers for the upcoming season.  Lisa Weightman (MUAC and Preston) receives bib 6, whilst Kathryn Mitchell (MUAC and Eureka) will wear bib 9.


Friday, April 15th.

16:00 High Jump – Men (Qualifying)

16:15 Long Jump – Men (Qualifying)

Saturday, April 16th
16:30 Long Jump – Women (Qualifying)
17:45 1500m – Men (1st Round)
18:30 Triple Jump – Men (Final)
18:45 Javelin Throw – Women (Final)
19:45 High Jump – Men (Final)
20:00 Triple Jump – Women (Final)
20:43 3000m Steeplechase – Women (Final)
Sunday, April 17th
13:00 Long Jump – Women (Final)
13:30 Pole Vault – Women (Final)
14:10 High Jump – Women (Final)
14:20 Long Jump – Men (Final)
14:50 1500m – Women (Final)
15:00 1500m – Men (Final)