Golden day of racing at Flemington

Big V 10

Melbourne Uni Aths Club resembled a clan of avid Spartans out in unrelenting force on Saturday, at Victoria’s premier 10km road race, and the third race in the XCR 2012 campaign: the Big V 10.

Not unlike the ancient stadium at Olympia, Flemington Race Course served as a sacred arena that saw unanimous conquest across all three women’s divisions. The white train women were led to glorious victory by London Olympic hope Lisa Weightman who shared in the divine splendour and immortal fame that comes with winning the Big V 10, in a time of 33 minutes 17 seconds. Second place was convincingly claimed with a strong performance from Sophie Barker (34.39), followed by stellar efforts from young gun Rose Donegan and 2012 women’s beer-mile champion Sarah McSweeny, both cementing places in the top 15 and securing women’s D1 triumph. Others followed suit with strong racing from Julie McNamara and Sarah Emons both fielding places in the race’s top 25  ensuring  D2 gold and Kate Scarlett leading the D3 women to the glory of a convincing hat-trick.

Uni men also delivered high-calibre racing earning major places with D4 and D6 both claiming 2nd place and D2 coming in 3rd. D7 men secured 4th place and the White Train premier division runners finished in a very respectable 5th place. Notable performances include those of our Irish delegation: Mark Kirwan (31.23, 15th overall) and Brian O’Donoghue (35.58), Emil Gundesen (aka the Flying Dane) with a ripping time of 33.25 by and the ever-steadfast and electrifying pair Zac Newman (32.11) and Grant Morgan (32.18).

To add to the magnificence of the day, the legion in white demonstrated a Herculean effort with 39 racers competing on the day, equalling a University club record, and marking the dawn of a golden age that promises to continue in XCR race four next Saturday 9th of June at Lake Wendouree in Ballarat.

Finally, well done to the many runners who achieved PBs for the day and welcome to first time runners: Peter Gaukrodger, Samantha Passey, Ole-Andreas Grendstadbakk and Heather Ridley.

Team Results
Team Ladders